Skip to main content

Carroll County Treasurer's Office Staff

(Left to Right) Pat Vonnahme, Clerk; Lisa Wagner, Admin Asst/Tax & Financials Deputy; Jean Seidl, Treasurer; Jessie Haubrich, Auto Deputy; Brooke Brun
(left to right) 
Pat Vonnahme, Clerk; Lisa Wagner, Admin Asst/Tax & Financials Deputy;
Jean Seidl, Treasurer; Jessie Haubrich, Auto Deputy; Brooke Bruning, Clerk;
Roseanna Schulte, Clerk; Casey Bruch, Clerk; Donna Pietig, Drivers License Deputy

Message from Carroll County Treasurer Jean Seidl:

As Treasurer of Carroll County, I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the Treasurer's website and briefly identify the primary functions of the office.

These functions include:

  • The issuance of vehicle titles and registrations and the collection of all vehicle fees for residents of Carroll County.
  • The collection of property taxes for over 22,000 parcels. We respond to tax inquiries throughout the year, administer the Iowa Property Tax Program and conduct the annual tax sale for the collection of delinquent taxes.
  • Driver's license responsibilities including issuing, renewing, and replacing lost or damaged ID cards and driver's licenses, and issuing new learner's permits, driver's licenses, CDLs. Civil penalties are collected by the Treasurer's Office and remitted to the DOT.  Car drives and motorcycle drives are performed by the staff by appointment.
  • The financial administration and services for banking, cash management and investments. Distribution of collections to schools, cities and all other taxing agencies.

Our mission is to provide quality customer service in the issuance of vehicle registrations, collection of property taxes, performing driver's license transactions, and cash management of collections through positive interactions between customers and employees. Please tour our "Information Center" for more detailed information about this office.

If you have any questions pertaining to the Treasurer's Office, our services or duties, please e-mail me at [email protected] or call at (712) 792-1200.


Jean Seidl
Carroll County Treasurer


Bill of Sale Required for Transferring Vehicle Titles Beginning January 1, 2020

Effective January 1, 2020, the Carroll County Treasurer’s Office will require customers to provide a bill of sale when transferring all motor vehicle titles between private parties. A bill of sale or purchase agreement is already required for vehicles purchased from a dealership.

The Iowa State County Treasurer’s Association (ISCTA), in partnership with the Iowa Department of Revenue (IDOR), aims to substantiate the purchase price of every vehicle transferred in Iowa.  This has a direct impact on the fees that are remitted to the State’s Road Use Tax fund.

The ISCTA Executive Board has encouraged all 99 counties to proactively require a bill of sale to be completed by both the seller and the buyer in advance of any administrative mandate.

Many counties already require a bill of sale between private parties and are allowed to do so pursuant to section 321.13 of the Iowa Code. Carroll County will join other counties and require a bill of sale for every vehicle transfer effective January 1, 2020. The bill of sale should include the seller’s name, make of the vehicle, year of the vehicle, Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), buyer’s name, date of sale, purchase price, and signature of seller. 

A bill of sale form is available in the Carroll County Treasurer’s Office or at Bill of Sale Form


114 E. 6th St.
Carroll, Iowa 51401

The Treasurer's Office is on the Northeast corner of the main floor of the Courthouse

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 68
Carroll, IA 51401

Phone: 712-792-1200
FAX: 712-792-9493

Office Hours:
Driver's License
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Car drives by appointment only. Motorcycle drives on Fridays by appointment, weather permitting.

Motor Vehicle
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Property Tax
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
We take payments by credit card

Jean Seidl
County Treasurer